/ Experiment-Nucl nucl-ex/0610040

New measurement of neutron capture resonances in Bi-209

Domingo-Pardo, C. (Valencia U.) ; Abbondanno, U. (INFN, Trieste) ; Aerts, G. (Saclay) ; Alvarez-Pol, H. (Santiago de Compostela U.) ; Alvarez-Velarde, F. (Madrid, CIEMAT) ; Andriamonje, S. (Saclay) ; Andrzejewski, J. (Lodz U.) ; Assimakopoulos, P. (Ioannina U.) ; Audouin, L. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Badurek, G. (Vienna, OAW) ; Baumann, P. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Becvar, F. (Charles U.) ; Berthoumieux, E. (Saclay) ; Calvino, F. (Barcelona, Polytechnic U.) ; Cano-Ott, D. (Madrid, CIEMAT) ; Capote, R. (Seville U.) ; Carrillode Albornoz, A. (ITN, Sacavem) ; Cennini, P. (CERN) ; Chepel, V. (Coimbra U.) ; Chiaveri, E. (CERN) ; Colonna, N. (INFN, Trieste) ; Cortes, G. (Barcelona, Polytechnic U.) ; Couture, A. (Notre Dame U.) ; Cox, J. (Notre Dame U.) ; Dahlfors, M. (CERN) ; David, S. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Dillman, I. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Dolfini, R. (Pavia U.) ; Dridi, W. (Saclay) ; Duran, I. (Santiago de Compostela U.) ; Eleftheriadis, C. (Aristotle U., Thessaloniki) ; Embid-Segura, M. (Madrid, CIEMAT) ; Ferrant, L. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Ferrari, A. (CERN) ; Ferreira-Marques, R. (Coimbra U.) ; Fitzpatrick, L. (CERN) ; Frais-Koelbl, H. (IAEA, Vienna) ; Fujii, K. (INFN, Trieste) ; Furman, W. (Dubna, JINR) ; Gallino, R. (INFN, Turin) ; Goncalves, I. (Coimbra U.) ; Gonzalez-Romero, E. (Madrid, CIEMAT) ; Goverdovski, A. (Obninsk, Inst. Phys. Power Eng.) ; Gramegna, F. (INFN, Trieste) ; Griesmayer, E. (IAEA, Vienna) ; Guerrero, C. (Madrid, CIEMAT) ; Gunsing, F. (Saclay) ; Haas, B. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Haight, R. (Los Alamos) ; Heil, M. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Herrera-Martinez, A. (CERN) ; Igashira, M. (Tokyo Inst. Tech.) ; Isaev, S. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Jericha, E. (Vienna, OAW) ; Kadi, Y. (CERN) ; Kappeler, F. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Karamanis, D. (Ioannina U.) ; Karadimos, D. (Ioannina U.) ; Kerveno, M. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Ketlerov, V. (Obninsk, Inst. Phys. Power Eng.) ; Koehler, P. (Oak Ridge) ; Konovalov, V. (Dubna, JINR) ; Kossionides, E. (Democritos Nucl. Res. Ctr.) ; Krticka, M. (Charles U.) ; Lamboudis, C. (Ioannina U.) ; Leeb, H. (Vienna, OAW) ; Lindote, A. (Coimbra U.) ; Lopes, I. (Coimbra U.) ; Lozano, M. (Seville U.) ; Lukic, S. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Marganiec, J. (Lodz U.) ; Marques, L. (ITN, Sacavem) ; Marrone, S. (INFN, Trieste) ; Mastinu, P. (INFN, Trieste) ; Mengoni, A. (CERN) ; Milazzo, P.M. (INFN, Trieste) ; Moreau, C. (INFN, Trieste) ; Mosconi, M. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Neves, F. (Coimbra U.) ; Oberhummer, H. (Vienna, OAW) ; Oshima, M. (JAERI, Tokai) ; O'Brien, S. (Notre Dame U.) ; Pancin, J. (Saclay) ; Papachristodoulou, C. (Ioannina U.) ; Papadopoulos, C. (Natl. Tech. U., Athens) ; Paradela, C. (Santiago de Compostela U.) ; Patronis, N. (Ioannina U.) ; Pavlik, A. (Vienna U.) ; Pavlopoulos, P. (Leonardo de Vinci Pole U., Paris) ; Perrot, L. (Saclay) ; Plag, R. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Plompen, A. (Geel, JRC) ; Plukis, A. (Saclay) ; Poch, A. (Barcelona, Polytechnic U.) ; Pretel, C. (Barcelona, Polytechnic U.) ; Quesada, J. (Seville U.) ; Rauscher, T. (Basel U.) ; Reifarth, R. (Los Alamos) ; Rosetti, M. (ENEA, Bologna) ; Rubbia, C. (Pavia U.) ; Rudolf, G. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Rullhusen, P. (Geel, JRC) ; Salgado, J. (ITN, Sacavem) ; Sarchiapone, L. (CERN) ; Savvidis, I. (Aristotle U., Thessaloniki) ; Stephan, C. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Tagliente, G. (INFN, Trieste) ; Tain, J.L. (Valencia U.) ; Tassan-Got, L. (Strasbourg, IReS) ; Tavora, L. (ITN, Sacavem) ; Terlizzi, R. (INFN, Trieste) ; Vannini, G. (INFN, Turin) ; Vaz, P. (ITN, Sacavem) ; Ventura, Alberto (ENEA, Bologna) ; Villamarin, D. (Madrid, CIEMAT) ; Vincente, M.C. (Madrid, CIEMAT) ; Vlachoudis, V. (CERN) ; Vlastou, R. (Natl. Tech. U., Athens) ; Voss, F. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Walter, S. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum) ; Wendler, H. (CERN) ; Wiescher, M. (Notre Dame U.) ; Wisshak, K. (Karlsruhe, Forschungszentrum)

Published in: Phys.Rev.
Year: 2006
Vol.: C74
Page No: 025807
Pages: 10

Abstract: The neutron capture cross section of Bi209 has been measured at the CERN n TOF facility by employing the pulse-height-weighting technique. Improvements over previous measurements are mainly because of an optimized detection system, which led to a practically negligible neutron sensitivity. Additional experimental sources of systematic error, such as the electronic threshold in the detectors, summing of gamma-rays, internal electron conversion, and the isomeric state in bismuth, have been taken into account. Gamma-ray absorption effects inside the sample have been corrected by employing a nonpolynomial weighting function. Because Bi209 is the last stable isotope in the reaction path of the stellar s-process, the Maxwellian averaged capture cross section is important for the recycling of the reaction flow by alpha-decays. In the relevant stellar range of thermal energies between kT=5 and 8 keV our new capture rate is about 16% higher than the presently accepted value used for nucleosynthesis calculations. At this low temperature an important part of the heavy Pb-Bi isotopes are supposed to be synthesized by the s-process in the He shells of low mass, thermally pulsing asymptotic giant branch stars. With the improved set of cross sections we obtain an s-process fraction of 19(3)% of the solar bismuth abundance, resulting in an r-process residual of 81(3)%. The present (n,gamma) cross-section measurement is also of relevance for the design of accelerator driven systems based on a liquid metal Pb/Bi spallation target.

Web-Page: http://dx.doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.74.025807; http://link.aps.org/abstract/PRC/V74/E025807

Total numbers of views: 1635
Numbers of unique views: 624
 Запись создана 2010-10-29, последняя модификация 2014-01-30

Внешние ссылки:
Загрузка полного текстаDOI
Загрузка полного текстаPHRVA-C
Оценить этот документ:

Rate this document:
(Еще не рецензированная)